Citizen's Participation Plan - 7/25 deadline for comment

Apologies for the tardiness of this posting! 

From the City of Atlanta: 


The City of Atlanta Citizen Participation Plan (CPP) was prepared in accordance with Section 104(a)(3) of the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974, as amended. The 24 CFR 91.105 federal regulations outline the “citizen participation” requirements. This document has been established in order for the City Atlanta to comply with the requirements of these regulations.

PROPOSAL:  Citizens Participation Plan (CPP) CARES ACT Changes 

NPU(S):  Citywide

The CPP sets forth the City’s policies and procedures for attaining citizen input, participation, and comment on the federally-funded programs, specifically, Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG), Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG), HOME Investment Partnership Program (HOME) and Housing Opportunities for Person with Aids (HOPWA) (together, the “City’s Entitlement Programs”). Citizen input regarding the use of federal funds received annually from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is vital; therefore, this CPP will have an open comment period of 5 days.

In response to the Covid-19 Disaster Declaration, in a Memorandum issued March 31, 2020, HUD has waived the 30-day minimum for the required public comment period. It now allows for a 5-day comment period, allowing the City of Atlanta to amend their Citizens Participation Plan to establish expedited procedures to draft, propose or amend Consolidated Plans (ConPlans), Annual Action Plans, and Substantial Amendments to those plans.
To successfully manage the City’s Entitlement Programs, citizen input is necessary in the following areas:
Citizen Participation Plan and amendments to the Citizen Participation Plan; 
A Five-Year Consolidated Plan (Con Plan);
An Annual Action Plan (AAP);
Fair Housing Plans;
Annual Performance Reports; and
Substantial Amendments to the Consolidated Plan or Annual Action Plan

The Citizens Participation Plan can be reviewed at the City of Atlanta Department of Grants and Community Development website Comments may be provided by emailing or by calling (404) 330-6001 and leaving a recorded message.

For additional information, please contact City of Atlanta,  Department of Grants and Community Development, at (404) 330-6390.

Early Voting Starts Monday, July 20

From Fulton County:
August 11 Election
What Voters Need to Know
Safety First: Voters at Fulton County polling places will be asked to wear a mask or face covering, and social distancing guidelines will be enforced. The number of voters inside a facility at a given time may be limited.
Your Ballot: Because the August 11 election is a partisan primary runoff, voters will be provided the ballot of the same party for which they cast a ballot during the June 9 Primary. Voters who did not vote in the June 9 Primary are eligible to vote in the runoff and may select a Democratic or Nonpartisan ballot. Runoff races will vary by party.

Monday, July, 20 to Friday, August, 7
8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Saturday, July 25 & Saturday, August 1
8:30 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

C.T. Martin Natatorium and Recreation Center (District 4)
3201 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. SW
Atlanta, GA 30311

State Farm Arena (District 4)
1 State Farm Drive
Atlanta, GA 30303

Northwest Branch at Scotts Crossing Library (District 4)
2489 Perry Boulevard, NW
Atlanta, GA 30318

Wolf Creek Library (District 5)
3100 Enon Road, SW
Atlanta, GA 30331

College Park Library (District 6)
3647 Main Street
College Park, GA 30337

East Roswell Branch Library (District 1)
2301 Holcomb Bridge Road
Roswell, GA 30076

Milton Library (District 1)
855 Mayfield Road
Milton, GA 30009

Robert F. Fulton Ocee Library (District 1)
5090 Abbotts Bridge Road
Johns Creek, GA 30005

Alpharetta Branch Library (District 2)
10 Park Plaza
Alpharetta, GA 30009

Northeast/ Spruill Oaks Library (District 2)
9560 Spruill Road,
Johns Creeks, GA 30022

Roswell Branch Library (District 2)
115 Norcross Street
Roswell, GA 30009

Buckhead Library (District 3)
269 Buckhead Ave, NE
Atlanta, GA 30305

Northside Library (District 3)
3295 Northside Parkway, NW
Atlanta, GA 30327

Sandy Springs Library (District 3)
395 Mount Vernon Hwy, NE
Sandy Springs, GA 30328

Louise Watley Library at Southeast Atlanta (District 5)
1463 Pryor Road, SW
Atlanta, GA 30318

Ponce De Leon Library (District 5)
980 De Leon Ave, NE
Atlanta, GA 30306

South Fulton Service Center (District 5)
5600 Stonewall Tell Road
College Park, GA 30349

New Beginning Senior Center (District 6)
66 Brooks Drive
Fairburn, GA 30213

Gladys S. Dennard Library @ South Fulton (District 6)
4055 Flat Shoals Road
Union City, GA 30291

Palmetto Library (Outreach) (District 6)
August 3rd to August 7th
9111 Cascade Palmetto Highway
Palmetto, GA 30268

NPU Meeting *tomorrow*, Thursday 7/16, 7pm

This Thursday the 16th will be the NPU-S General Meeting for July 2020, held as always on the third Thursday of the month at 7pm.

As usual, our meeting is being held over Google Meet. Attendees should register beforehand! If you do not register then we cannot count your attendance or verify your identity on voting matters.

To register, either  register online at, or call (770) 744-5311 and leave a message with a way for us to reach you.

Agenda, minutes, and supporting documents can be found on

To attend the meeting:
We have one vote this month, an ordinance change updated from last month.
  • Z-20-36 - updates restrictions on the "relationship of building to the street," specifically garage entrances. 
We also have presentations from MARTA Army, Atlanta Beltline, and an announcement from Trees Atlanta!

As always, there will be representatives from the police, code enforcement, public works, and other City departments call in to give reports. We will also go over NPU and community efforts to help our residents during the COVID crisis.